Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Immigrant Visas

An immigrant visa is required of anyone who wishes to enter the United States to reside there permanently, whether or not that person plans to seek employment in the United States. U.S. immigration law provides for the issuance of immigrant visas in four general categories: immediate relative, family based, employment based, and the Diversity Immigrant Visa Program, known as the "green card" lottery.

There are THREE steps involved in applying for an immigrant visa:

Step 1:  Filing an immigrant visa petition with the U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.

Step 2:  The processing of the immigrant visa either by the National Visa Center in New Hampshire or the Immigrant Visa Unit at the Embassy in London.

Step 3:  The immigrant visa interview and medical examination.    

To find out more about this process, please click on the relevant tabs on the left-hand Navigation bar.  

Further information is available from the Department of State website.  

Retirement to the United States

  • No provision exists under U.S. visa law to qualify for immigration on the basis of retirement to the United States. Immigration is primarily family or employment based. Please click on the relevant tabs on the left-hand Navigation bar for further information 

Diversity Visa DV-2016

  • Diversity Visa program 2016 (DV-2016)

Prepare For Your Interview - PDF

  • How to prepare for your Immigrant Visa Interview

Guide for new immigrants

Internet Scams & Fraud

  • Diversity Lottery Fraud - Be Aware of Scams