Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
Electronic Passport (E-Passport)

Electronic Passports (e-passports)

Diagram of a passport with expanded e-passport symbol

A modern e-passport

Citizens of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Slovakia and the Republic of Korea must be in possession of an "e-passport" to enter the United States visa free under the VWP.

An e-passport has an integrated computer chip that holds the same information printed on the passport's data page. These e-Passports must comply with international technical standards established by the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO). You can identify an e-Passport with the symbol on left on the passport cover.

Please examine your passport carefully to determine whether it has this symbol. If you have any doubts, please check with the passport-issuing agency of your country of nationality.

Passport Validity

With the exception of passport holders of the Republic of Korea, the requirement that a passport be valid for six months beyond the holders stay in the United States is waived. If your passport is valid for less than 90 days, you will be admitted into the United States until the date on which the passport expires. Note: Citizens of the Republic of Korea are not covered by this ruling and must be in possession of passports valid for at least six months from the date on which they depart the United States, regardless of their proposed length of stay.